What does the future hold for Victor Wanyama?

Written By: Lakshya Kamra

Victor Wanyama, who played under Mauricio Pochettino at Southampton, has rejoined his former boss at White Hart Lane as confirmed by the club’s website.

A 5-year deal has been finalised and has cost the Londoners a fee in the region of £11m .

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 6.15.18 pm

The Kenyan midfielder is poised to join Eric Dier in the middle of the park and add to Tottenham’s young squad as they return to the Champions league after a 6 year exile. Tottenham are looking to bolster their midfield after enduring an end of the season collapse and injury troubles to Ryan Mason and Nabil Bentaleb.

The midfielder has cited Pochettino as one of the major reasons he chose Spurs

“It was easy for me to choose here because I know how the manager is, I know the manager likes to work hard and he improves the players as well. I thought it was a good opportunity for me to come here and also I think I can improve as a player here,” Wanyama added.

“There is more into it — you can see the talent here and also you can see the manager so everything has been great and seeing from outside also they have a great fan base and I think it’s a big club so that’s what attracted me to come here.

“I think Spurs have made a giant step, they’ve always improved since the manager arrived here and I think they can only get better so hopefully there are good things ahead

“I think impossible is nothing so I think if you work hard and we can achieve winning the Premier League then that would be my dream. That’s my dream in life, to win the Premier League or any trophy with the club.”

His first taste of football in a Spurs’ shirt will come when Spurs travel to Australia to take part in International Champions Cup where they’ll face Italian Champions Juventus on 26 July and Champions League Finalists Atletico Madrid 3 days later.

Spurs are also looking to improve their squad in other parts of the field with advanced talks in the pursuit of AZ Alkmaar’s Vincent Janssen (striker), Palermo’s Franco Vasquez (attacking midfielder) along with Roma forward Antonio Sanabria.

Images : mediamaxnetwork.co.ke

Leave a comment